Skip to main content
Rootly logo
Ops EfficiencyNew to marketNewest entrant

Rootly

AI-powered on-call, incident response, retrospectives, and AI SRE in one platform.

By Rootly · 4.5/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Engineering and SRE teams that want on-call, incident response, retrospectives, and AI root-cause analysis in one platform.
  • Teams consolidating off PagerDuty, Opsgenie, or incident.io, using Rootly's migration and contract buyout.
  • Organizations that run incident response natively in Slack or Microsoft Teams.
  • Security teams needing private incidents by default, granular RBAC, and audit-ready incident records.

Ideal size: 50–500 engineers people · Scale-up or enterprise with a formal on-call and incident process

Not for

  • Buyers wanting fully autonomous remediation with no human sign-off; Rootly requires explicit human approval.
  • Teams with no production on-call rotation or incident process to standardize.
  • Companies seeking a full ITSM suite; Rootly is purpose-built for incident and on-call workflows.

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

1–2 weeks

~14 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$24,000/yr

Starts at $240 · Per user, per month ($20/user/mo Essentials) billed annually; Enterprise quoted by sales; AI SRE priced separately.

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.5

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

No stated seat minimum; startup discounts up to 50% under 100 employees and pay-what-you-can under 25.

Add-on costs

  • Communications Module is a paid add-on on the Essentials plan
  • AI SRE is quoted separately and can be used with Rootly or standalone

Company & support

Who is behind Rootly, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
Not recorded

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsPlan not stated
  • Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
  • In person / on-siteEnterprise only
Hours
24/7
Response time
Not stated

Enterprise plans add a dedicated private support channel, a dedicated success manager and success team, priority 24/7 global support, and tailored training through Rootly Academy.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Rootly sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$630/yr$2k/yr$5k/yr$13k/yr$32k/yr13d18d22d26d31dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyRootlyZeltTrovataYAROOMSBoxAssembled

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.

Rootly is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • Rootly
  • Zelt
  • Trovata
  • YAROOMS
  • Box
  • Assembled
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including Rootly. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNative

Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSIntegration
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceIntegration
Microsoft 365Integration
SAPNot supported
SlackNative

AI & MCP readiness

What Rootly ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
Copilot / assistantAgentic workflowsAI searchNLP automation

Rootly AI SRE runs parallel hypothesis checks across alerts, telemetry, recent deploys, and past incidents, surfacing root cause with confidence scores and a visible reasoning chain. Every remediation requires explicit human sign-off. Other AI features include @Rootly chat, similar-incident matching, a meeting scribe, and auto-drafted retrospectives.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Never trains on your data
Runs on
OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Mistral
AI pricing
Included in the plan

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Official MCP server
Model key
Bring your own key
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 ISO 27001 — not listedGDPR HIPAA FedRAMP — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Rootly is an AI-native incident management platform combining on-call, incident response, retrospectives, and status pages. Its AI SRE runs automated root-cause analysis with confidence scores and suggested fixes, while response happens natively in Slack or Microsoft Teams. Essentials starts at $20 per user per month, with startup discounts and white-glove migration from PagerDuty or Opsgenie. It ships an MCP server and 100+ integrations.

Frequently asked questions

What does Rootly cost?

Rootly Essentials is $20 per user per month for both Incident Response and On-Call, with an Enterprise tier quoted by sales. AI SRE is priced separately and can be used with Rootly or standalone, and bundling the three products earns a discount. Startups under 100 employees, under $50m raised, and under 5 years old can save up to 50%, and companies under 25 employees pay what they can. Trials typically run two weeks and can be extended.

How long does it take to get to first value?

Rootly is self-serve to start: the changelog notes a single command sets up your team, on-call, alerting, and status page and then pages your phone to prove it works. The AI SRE page says teams see the first root cause finding within the first incident after setup, with no separate onboarding. Migration from PagerDuty or Opsgenie is automated and white glove, and one customer replaced a decade of PagerDuty in two weeks.

Does Rootly train AI models on our incident data?

No. Rootly states it enforces zero third-party model training: incident data is used exclusively for your organization, never pooled with other customers, and never used to train general models. The privacy page adds that data sent to OpenAI is used solely to provide Rootly AI services and is neither stored nor used for training by OpenAI.

Which compliance certifications does Rootly hold?

Rootly states it is SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, CCPA/CPPA, and HIPAA compliant, with a BAA available, and its security page describes certification across the standards security teams require, audit-ready logging, granular RBAC, and private incidents by default. ISO 27001 and FedRAMP are not claimed on the pages reviewed.

Can we bring our own AI model keys?

Yes. The Enterprise plan lists BYO AI key for OpenAI, Anthropic, and Gemini, and the integrations catalog includes OpenAI, Azure OpenAI, Anthropic Claude, Google Gemini, and Mistral AI connectors so AI workflows can run against the model provider you choose.

Does Rootly replace PagerDuty or Opsgenie?

Rootly positions itself as a PagerDuty replacement at roughly half the price with a contract buyout, plus automated white-glove migration. It has dedicated PagerDuty and Opsgenie migration tooling, and published customer stories describe teams moving off PagerDuty, Opsgenie, and incident.io.