
Scribe
Automatically capture how work gets done, and give your teams and AI agents the workflow context they need.
By Colony Labs, Inc. (dba Scribe) · 4.8/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Teams that need step-by-step guides, SOPs and on-screen walkthroughs captured automatically instead of written by hand
- IT, Operations, Finance and HR/L&D teams onboarding new hires or rolling out new software
- Organizations feeding real workflow context into AI assistants and agents via MCP or API
- Enterprises that need PII/PHI auto-redaction, SSO, SCIM, RBAC and activity audit logs around documentation
- Companies building an AI/automation roadmap from observed, analyzed workflow data
Ideal size: 10–500 people · Scale-up or enterprise with formal onboarding, training or AI adoption programs
Not for
- Buyers needing an AI-native authoring engine or bring-your-own-model control over the core product
- Purely offline or physical processes with no browser, desktop or mobile session to capture
- Teams with no need for shared, governed or versioned documentation
- Organizations that require FedRAMP authorization or a vendor-claimed ISO 27001 certification
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Same day to first guide
~1 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$3,900/yr
Starts at $0 · Per seat, billed monthly or yearly (yearly saves 20%); free Basic tier; Enterprise is custom-priced
Implementation Friction
1/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Basic free; Pro Personal from 1 seat; Pro Team from 5 seats; Enterprise custom
Add-on costs
- None
Company & support
Who is behind Scribe, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Public pages link to Support and a Help Center; pricing lists Customer support and Customer success rows per plan, and the security page says Enterprise customers receive priority support from a dedicated team. Hours and response SLAs are not stated.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Scribe sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Scribe
- Cal.com
- Vivantio
- Notion
- Softr
- Avaza
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Scribe. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.
AI & MCP readiness
What Scribe ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
The security page states core guide creation is not AI-powered; supporting features run on third-party AI services and Enterprise customers can opt out. Evidenced features include auto-generated titles and descriptions, SOP page generation from a prompt, text-to-speech and speech-to-text.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Trains by default; you can opt out
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Not recorded
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Official MCP server
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Scribe automatically captures browser, desktop and mobile workflows as step-by-step guides, SOPs and walkthroughs, then shares that workflow context with people and AI agents via integrations, MCP and an API. Free Basic tier; Pro Team is $13 per seat per month billed yearly with a 5-seat minimum. Enterprise adds PII/PHI auto-redaction, SSO, SCIM and audit logs; compliance covers SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, GDPR and FERPA. Cited by a 4.8/5 G2 rating and 94% of the Fortune 500.
Frequently asked questions
How long does it take to get value from Scribe?
Almost immediately. The Basic tier is free and works in the browser with the Chrome or Edge extension, so a user can capture a first guide the same day without an implementation project. Paid plans add mobile and desktop capture; desktop capture is a Pro and Enterprise feature only. There is no stated implementation fee, and the vendor reports 12x faster documentation and 35 hours saved per person per month from its 2025 customer survey.
What does Scribe cost for a mid-size team?
Pro Team is the team plan at $13 per seat per month billed yearly ($17 monthly) and requires a 5-seat minimum, which is about $780 per year at the minimum. Pro Personal is $25 per seat per month billed yearly ($35 monthly) and starts at one seat. Annual billing saves 20%. Enterprise pricing is custom and is where SSO, SCIM, roles, multi-team governance and automatic PII/PHI redaction live. A 25-seat Pro Team deployment runs roughly $3,900 per year.
Does Scribe use AI, and can we turn it off?
The security page states that the core function of automatically creating step-by-step guides does not use AI; supporting features do, through third-party AI services. Those features include auto-generated guide titles and descriptions, generating a full SOP from a prompt, text-to-speech and speech-to-text. Enterprise customers can opt out of AI features entirely.
Does Scribe train its models on our data?
The privacy policy says Scribe develops, trains and fine-tunes its machine learning and AI models using Activity Data, analytics, usage and log information, except where you have enabled an applicable opt-out or configured exclusions. That makes it opt-out by default. Separately, the security page states Scribe does not allow its third-party AI providers to train on customer data, and that those providers never receive the images in your Scribes.
How is sensitive data protected?
Scribe supports manual, assisted, admin-enforced and custom automatic redaction, so PII and PHI can be blurred from every user's screenshots and cannot be overridden. It also offers authenticated viewers, role-based access control, custom permissions, SSO, SCIM provisioning and deprovisioning, domain control, IP whitelisting and an activity audit log. Data is encrypted at rest with AES-256 and in transit with TLS 1.2+. Claimed standards include SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, GDPR, FERPA and US state privacy laws.
Can Scribe feed our own AI agents and assistants?
Yes. Scribe markets integrations, MCP and API for sharing workflow context with AI tools, publishes MCP and API documentation, and lists featured integrations with Copilot, Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor alongside wikis, LMS, CRM and project-management tools. The site also references an MCP Benchmark Report claiming 71% better AI agent performance, though that figure comes from the vendor's own survey material.