
Softr
The AI app builder for business operations: secure portals, internal tools, databases and workflows, no code required.
By Softr · 4.2/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Ops and business teams that need client, partner or employee portals without hiring a developer
- Companies paying per-seat for portals with hundreds of external users
- Teams with data in Airtable, Notion, Google Sheets, HubSpot or Supabase that need logins and permissions on top
- Department leads who want to launch an internal tool in hours or days and keep editing it themselves
- Enterprises needing SSO, SCIM, audit logs and EU or US data residency for internal apps
Ideal size: 10–500 people · Scale-up or enterprise ops team with a defined data source and access-control needs
Not for
- Engineering teams that want a codebase they own, host and self-manage
- Products that require native mobile apps or deep custom UI everywhere
- Organizations that need HIPAA or FedRAMP attestations today
- Companies wanting unlimited internal users at a flat price
- Buyers who only need a marketing website rather than an app
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Hours for a simple app; ~1 week for a full build
~7 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$3,948/yr
Starts at $228 · Per-workspace builders plus app users, billed monthly or annually (2 months off on annual); free plan available
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Free $0; Basic $19/mo; Pro $99/mo; Business $329/mo (annual billing); Enterprise custom
Add-on costs
- Extra builders: $5/mo Basic, $10/mo Pro, $20/mo Business
- Extra app users from $1/mo on Pro and $2/mo on Business
- Add-on AI credits purchasable on any plan, including Free
- Additional custom domains $15/mo, or $13/mo billed annually
Company & support
Who is behind Softr, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2020 · 6 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailPlan not stated
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumAll plans
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Priority support and onboarding are listed on the Business plan; Enterprise adds a customer success manager, custom agreements and SLAs, SSO/SCIM assistance and SOC 2 report access on request.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Softr sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Softr
- Stitchflow
- Addigy
- Slite
- Knack
- Acuity Scheduling
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Softr. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.
AI & MCP readiness
What Softr ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
The AI Co-Builder turns a prompt into pages, database, permissions and workflows. Softr Agents run inside apps or on a schedule, and AI Agents in databases and workflows can call OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and Mistral models. Apps stay editable visually, so AI is optional.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Mistral
- AI pricing
- Billed by usage or credits
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Official MCP server
- Model key
- Vendor's key
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Softr is a no-code AI app builder for business operations. Teams describe an app in plain English or build visually to create client, partner and employee portals, CRMs, intranets and dashboards, with a built-in database, workflow automation, granular permissions and 40+ integrations. Connectors cover Airtable, Notion, Google Sheets, HubSpot, Salesforce, SQL databases and Snowflake. Hosting, authentication and security are included, so there is no code to maintain. Plans run from Free to $329/month Business, plus Enterprise with SSO, SCIM and audit logs.
Frequently asked questions
How long does it take to get a Softr app into production?
Softr's own FAQ states that building and launching an app typically takes a few hours to a few days: a simple internal tool or portal can launch within hours or days, while complex data, permissions, workflows and integrations take longer. The integrations page claims a first app in under 30 minutes, and a customer story describes a build that had been planned as four weeks finishing in under 48 hours using MCP. There is no mandatory implementation fee; onboarding help is included on higher plans.
What does Softr cost for a mid-market team?
On annual billing the published rates are Free $0, Basic $19/month, Pro $99/month and Business $329/month, with custom Enterprise pricing. Every plan, including Free, includes unlimited apps, databases, workflows and forms; what changes is usage volume (database records, workflow actions, app users) and governance depth such as custom code, global data restrictions, 2FA, push notifications and filtered user sync. Expect roughly $1,200/year for a small Pro team and about $4,000/year on Business before extra users, builders, domains or AI credits.
Is Softr secure enough for enterprise IT?
The vendor states SOC 2 Type II compliance and GDPR compliance, with data hosted in the EU (Germany) or US, 256-bit TLS in transit and encryption at rest, server-side database connections so API keys never reach the browser, application and database audit logs, SAML/OpenID SSO and SCIM provisioning on Enterprise, plus IP and record-level restrictions. There is no stated HIPAA or FedRAMP certification, and SOC 2 reports are available on request through the Trust Center.
Can Softr connect to our existing data stack?
Yes, within plan limits. Softr Databases is the native store, and 21+ external sources are supported: Airtable, Notion, Google Sheets, Coda, SmartSuite, Xano, Zoho CRM and REST API on every plan including Free; monday.com, Supabase and ClickUp on Pro; HubSpot, BigQuery, Microsoft Excel and SQL databases on Business; Salesforce and Snowflake on Enterprise. Anything without a native connector can be reached over HTTP from Softr Workflows.
Does using AI in Softr cost extra, and can we use our own agent?
Each plan includes a monthly AI credit allowance (5 on Free up to 100 on Business), and extra credits can be bought as add-ons, even on Free. Connecting an external agent over Softr MCP - Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor or Codex - is included on every plan and does not consume Softr AI credits. Unused plan credits do not roll over; purchased add-on credits roll over for one month.
Do we need developers or a system integrator?
No. Softr is positioned for non-technical department leads: you can start from a prompt to the AI Co-Builder, a template, or manual building, and everything the AI creates stays editable through the same visual controls. Authentication, permissions, hosting and security ship with each app, so there is no generated codebase to deploy, patch or hand over. Enterprise buyers can still get onboarding, custom agreements and a customer success manager.