
UserGuiding
All-in-one product adoption software for no-code in-app onboarding, self-serve help and AI-assisted support
By UserGuiding · 3.8/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- B2B SaaS product and growth teams that want no-code in-app onboarding, adoption campaigns, surveys and a knowledge base from one vendor
- Teams that must show value fast - the vendor advertises a 15-minute setup and same-day publishing
- Companies consolidating several adoption tools, with migration help and free overlap until an existing contract ends
- Web-app teams that want the full adoption feature set plus the AI Assistant on the entry plan
Ideal size: 5-100 people · Product-led SaaS with a dedicated product or growth team
Not for
- Teams that need native iOS or Android in-app guidance - the vendor states native mobile apps are not supported
- Enterprises that require self-hosted or on-premise deployment; UserGuiding is a hosted web SaaS
- Buyers who need SLA, security audit, unlimited seats and custom contracts at the lowest price - those sit on Enterprise or custom quotes
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Same day (15-minute setup)
~1 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$4,188/yr
Starts at $2,088 · MAU-tiered subscription billed monthly or yearly (yearly saves about 30%); Starter from $174/mo and Growth from $349/mo billed yearly, each covering up to 2,000 MAU, then custom quotes
Implementation Friction
1/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
1 seat (Starter), 3 seats (Growth), 10 seats (Enterprise); extra team-member seats sold as add-ons
Add-on costs
- Extra material quotas
- Extra team-member seats
- Extra containers
- White-label branding (remove UserGuiding branding)
- EU data hosting on Starter (included in Growth and Enterprise)
Company & support
Who is behind UserGuiding, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailPlan not stated
- Live chatPlan not stated
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerPlan not stated
- In person / on-sitePlan not stated
- Hours
- Not recorded
- Response time
- Not stated
Pricing page lists Help Center, E-mail Support, Live Chat Support, a Dedicated Customer Success Manager, an implementation workshop and 3 months of weekly 1-on-1 onboarding sessions. SLA and security questionnaire are on Enterprise or custom contracts.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where UserGuiding sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- UserGuiding
- Upflow
- Wistia
- Grain
- tl;dv
- UserGems
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including UserGuiding. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.
AI & MCP readiness
What UserGuiding ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Homepage markets an in-app AI Assistant that answers end users using the customer's own knowledge base, plus Lighthouse AI for plain-language questions about users and materials, and an MCP server. Pricing lists 'AI Assistant - 50 Free resolutions' on Starter, Growth and Enterprise and 'AI Insights for Surveys'. No model provider, key model or AI audit detail is stated.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- Not recorded
- AI pricing
- Included in the plan
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Official MCP server
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
UserGuiding is an all-in-one product adoption platform for web apps: no-code product tours, checklists, tooltips, banners, in-app surveys, a knowledge base and product analytics, plus an AI assistant and an MCP server. The vendor advertises 15-minute setup and same-day publishing, MAU-based pricing from $174/month billed yearly (Starter), a 14-day free trial and a 30-day money-back guarantee. Best horizontal fit for B2B SaaS product and growth teams; native mobile apps are not supported.
Frequently asked questions
How long does it take to get UserGuiding live in our product?
The vendor advertises a 15-minute one-time setup: embed the container code in your web app, download the Chrome extension, build content on top of your live product and publish. Customers quoted on the site say implementation was faster than with other onboarding tools, and the pricing FAQ notes the tool is code-free, so no designer or developer is required.
What does UserGuiding cost for a mid-market SaaS product?
Pricing scales with monthly active users. Starter starts at $174/month billed yearly (about $2,088/year) for up to 2,000 MAU with all adoption features plus the AI Assistant; Growth starts at $349/month billed yearly (about $4,188/year) and adds advanced analytics, session replay, localization and premium integrations. Above 2,000 MAU or for custom needs you request a quote. A 14-day free trial and a 30-day money-back guarantee are offered.
How does UserGuiding address security, privacy and compliance?
The vendor publishes a Security and Trust Center and states an end-to-end approach covering SOC 2 Type 2, GDPR, HIPAA, ISO 27001 and LGPD; the pricing page lists SOC 2, GDPR and HIPAA under Enterprise alongside a security audit, security questionnaire, SAML SSO and team activity logs. Optional EU (Frankfurt) data hosting is free on Growth and Enterprise and an add-on on Starter. Buyers should confirm current certifications, reports and DPAs directly with the vendor.
Can we adopt it while still under contract with another onboarding tool?
Yes. The vendor says to tell them when your current subscription ends: UserGuiding is free until that date and the team helps move your existing guides, checklists, surveys and knowledge-base content across and test everything in your product, so you are live on the day your old contract expires and your paid term begins.
Does UserGuiding work on native mobile apps?
No. The vendor states that native mobile apps are not supported today, although content renders in all modern web browsers regardless of device. Displaying content on screens narrower than 800px currently requires contacting UserGuiding, since that capability is still being tested.
Which tools does UserGuiding connect to, and is there an MCP path?
Listed integrations include Salesforce, HubSpot, Slack, Segment, Mixpanel, Amplitude, Intercom, Woopra, Google Analytics and Google Tag Manager, plus webhooks and knowledge-base or live-chat connectors. The vendor also ships its own MCP server, which gives AI tools and agents direct access to your project to query users, track events and manage articles.