
Ahrefs
AI marketing platform built on Ahrefs' own web index for search, AI and brand visibility
By Ahrefs · HQ Singapore · 4.6/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- SEO and content teams that need keyword, backlink and competitor data at web scale
- Agencies and consultants reporting across many client projects
- Brand teams tracking visibility inside AI assistants as well as classic search
- Enterprise marketing teams needing API, MCP, SSO and audit-log controls
Ideal size: 5-200 (marketing/SEO teams) people · Scale-up or enterprise with an established content and SEO function
Not for
- Companies with no organic search, content or brand-visibility programme
- Buyers who need on-premise deployment or strict data-residency control
- Teams looking mainly for sales, CRM or outbound prospecting data
- Price-sensitive buyers who expect discounts, free trials or refunds
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
Under a month (self-serve)
~30 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$5,400/yr
Starts at $1,290 · Per seat, monthly or annual. Lite $129/mo, Standard $249/mo, Advanced $449/mo, Enterprise $1,499/mo; annual billing saves up to 17%
Implementation Friction
1/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
1 user included; extra users $40-$80/mo each on Lite-Advanced (up to 2/5/10), unlimited on Enterprise
Add-on costs
- Content Kit (AI Content Helper, AI Content Grader): from $99/mo
- Report Builder: $99/mo
- Project Boost Pro: $20/mo per project
- Project Boost Max: $200/mo per project
- Brand Radar AI standalone: from $199/mo
- Custom prompt tracking packages: $50-$250/mo
- Extra users: $40-$100/mo each depending on plan
Company & support
Who is behind Ahrefs, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Singapore
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailPlan not stated
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumPlan not stated
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- Business hours
- Response time
- Median first response time 5h 58m (vendor-reported)
Vendor states multilingual customer support available 5 days a week, plus Academy courses, guides, webinars and the Ahrefs Insider community.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Ahrefs sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Ahrefs
- Unbounce
- Omnisend
- Semrush
- Moz
- AWeber
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Ahrefs. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.
AI & MCP readiness
What Ahrefs ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Ask Ahrefs is a built-in assistant that queries data and runs API calls; Letaido runs marketing agents 24/7; Brand Radar tracks brand mentions and sentiment across AI chatbots; MCP connects live data to ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor and Copilot Studio. No source states model key handling or per-action AI logging.
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Official MCP server
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Ahrefs is an SEO and AI-search marketing platform built on its own web index (41.9B keywords tracked, 170T pages). Plans run from $129/mo Lite to $1,499/mo Enterprise, with no setup fees, no contracts and a free tier. Buyers get keyword research, site audits, rank tracking, backlink and competitor data, Brand Radar AI-visibility tracking, an AI assistant and 24/7 marketing agents, plus API and a native MCP server on every paid plan. Best fit is agencies and in-house growth teams with an existing content and SEO motion.
Frequently asked questions
What does Ahrefs cost per year?
List pricing is Lite $129/mo, Standard $249/mo, Advanced $449/mo and Enterprise $1,499/mo, with annual billing saving up to 17%. Extra users cost $40-$100/mo each, and the vendor states there are no contracts and no setup fees. Add-ons such as Content Kit, Report Builder and Project Boost are billed separately, and the vendor does not generally issue refunds.
How long does it take to get value?
Onboarding is fully self-serve: sign-up, a free tier for Site Explorer and Site Audit, and no implementation or setup fee. Data appears immediately after a project and crawl are created, so teams usually reach production reporting within the first billing cycle. Enterprise buyers add SSO, custom API endpoints and access controls, which lengthens procurement rather than setup.
How does Ahrefs fit an AI or data stack?
Ahrefs ships an official SEO MCP server included on all paid plans, with setup guides for ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor and Copilot Studio, plus direct API access (uncapped on Enterprise) and Looker Studio integration on Advanced. Rows per request scale by plan. There is no stated Snowflake, Salesforce, HubSpot, SAP or Slack connector among the pages reviewed.
What security and compliance controls are offered?
The vendor advertises single sign-on, two-factor authentication and ISO 27001 certification, with Enterprise adding access management and an audit log. No dedicated security, trust or compliance page was available among the reviewed sources, so SOC 2, HIPAA, FedRAMP, GDPR and AI-management certifications could not be verified here; buyers should request the current trust documentation.
What support is available?
Support is described as responsive, multilingual and available five days a week, with a reported median first response time of about 5h 58m. Self-serve resources include the Ahrefs Academy, certification, guides, blog, webinars and a private community, and the pricing FAQ directs users to a support email address.