
BigCommerce
Commerce built for momentum: an open SaaS platform for B2C and B2B brands.
By BigCommerce · HQ Austin, US · 4.2/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- B2C and B2B brands that need consumer storefronts and wholesale portals on one platform
- Mid-market and enterprise retailers with complex catalogs, multi-storefront or multi-region needs
- Teams that want open APIs and headless storefront options (Catalyst, Stencil, GraphQL) while keeping SaaS hosting
- Merchants migrating from Shopify, WooCommerce, Salesforce or Magento
- Businesses selling across Amazon, eBay, Walmart, Google, Meta and TikTok
Ideal size: 10-200+ people · Scale-up to enterprise with dedicated ecommerce or developer resources
Not for
- Very early-stage sellers hunting the cheapest possible starter store; Core caps at $30K trailing-12-month GMV
- Teams unwilling to live with GMV-based plan tiers and Open Payment Provider fees
- Buyers who need deep native ERP, finance or manufacturing modules without third-party apps
- Organizations requiring on-premise or self-hosted deployment
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
~30 days (60-90 for B2B portals)
~30 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$3,588/yr
Starts at $348 · Per-store subscription billed monthly or annually; plan tiers set by trailing-12-month GMV, plus a 0.6-2.0% Open Payment Provider fee on self-service plans
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
No seat tiers; plans are defined by trailing-12-month GMV caps and storefront limits rather than user counts
Add-on costs
- Extra storefronts: $30/mo (Core), $50/mo (Growth), $100/mo (Scale)
- Phone support add-on for the Core plan, priced separately
- Express routing and priority support add-on on Growth and Scale
Company & support
Who is behind BigCommerce, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2009 · 17 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Austin, US
How you get support
- PhonePlan not stated
- EmailAll plans
- Live chatAll plans
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumPlan not stated
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Not stated
24/7 chat and email support on every plan. Phone support is included on Growth, Scale and Performance (Core can add it). A dedicated Customer Success Manager is included on the Performance plan.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where BigCommerce sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- BigCommerce
- Recurly
- Brandboom
- Omnisend
- Klaviyo
- Ahrefs
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including BigCommerce. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.
AI & MCP readiness
What BigCommerce ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
Companion is an AI assistant that answers questions, surfaces insights and handles store operations. BigCommerce also describes buildable brand agents that know your catalog, customers and policies, and catalog enrichment for AI shopping agents. AI used for fraud prevention, recommendations and personalization is governed under ISO/IEC 42001.
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Official MCP server
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
BigCommerce is an open SaaS commerce platform for B2C and B2B brands, combining a hosted storefront with headless options, 600+ integrations and 1,200+ marketplace apps. Plans run $29-$299/mo billed annually (Performance from $1,499/mo) and are tiered by trailing-12-month GMV, with 24/7 chat and email support on all plans. Most stores launch within 30 days; B2B portals in 60-90 days. Compliance includes SOC 2, ISO 27001 and ISO/IEC 42001, and a native MCP server serves the developer docs.
Frequently asked questions
How is BigCommerce priced?
BigCommerce sells per-store subscriptions: Core $29/mo and Growth $79/mo billed annually, Scale $299/mo billed annually, and a custom Performance plan starting at $1,499/mo billed annually. Plan tiers are set by trailing-12-month GMV, and automatic upgrades kick in as you exceed a cap. Self-service plans also pay a 0.6%-2.0% Open Payment Provider fee on orders processed outside the embedded provider list; embedded providers carry no order fee. Prices exclude tax, and extra storefronts cost $30-$100/mo depending on plan.
How long does implementation take?
BigCommerce says most stores go live within 30 days, while B2B portals typically launch in 60-90 days. You start with a 15-day free trial that is a real store rather than a staged demo, and data can be imported before launch. Optional professional services cover implementation project management, solution architecture, data migration and an enterprise launch package with training. Forrester's 2023 study reports 211% ROI within eight months and $700K+ saved by retiring a legacy solution.
Does BigCommerce support B2B and wholesale commerce?
Yes. B2B setups include company accounts, account-specific pricing, products, terms and payment options, self-service quotes, reorders, invoice payments, and buyer roles, permissions and approval workflows. SKU-level price lists and customer-group segmentation let you run B2C and B2B from one platform, and extra storefronts support multiple brands or regions.
What security and compliance certifications does BigCommerce hold?
Its Trust Center lists Level 1 PCI DSS v4.0.0 attestations, SOC 1/2/3, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, ISO 22301, ISO/IEC 27701, 27017 and 27018, ISO 9001:2015, GDPR, CCPA/CPRA, EU-US DPF, CSA STAR, NIST CSF and NIST 800-53 alignment. BigCommerce also states it is among the first certified against ISO/IEC 42001:2023 for AI management. Penetration test and network segmentation summaries are available on request.
Does BigCommerce offer AI or MCP capabilities?
BigCommerce describes Companion, an AI assistant that answers questions, surfaces insights and handles store operations, plus buildable brand agents and catalog enrichment aimed at AI search and chat shoppers. For developers, the documentation site offers an AI Agent Setup that connects Cursor, Claude or Codex to BigCommerce docs via MCP, with a root /llms.txt index. The sources do not state which underlying model is used or whether customers can bring their own model key, so treat model choice as an open question.
Can we migrate from Shopify, Salesforce, Magento or WooCommerce?
BigCommerce publishes a migration path from Shopify, WooCommerce, Salesforce, Magento and others, with professional services for data migration and optimization. Projects are supported by a global agency partner network and BigCommerce University training for business and technical users. Migration effort depends mostly on catalog complexity, payment setup and how much of the storefront you rebuild on Catalyst, Stencil or a headless front end.