
Klaviyo
AI marketing, service, and data platform for B2C brands—personalized email, SMS, and CRM automation
By Klaviyo · HQ Boston, US · 4.3/5 Value-Position score (estimate)
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- DTC and omnichannel B2C brands that want email, SMS, WhatsApp, push and service on one customer data platform
- Marketing teams replacing a fragmented CRM stack who need to launch omnichannel campaigns in days, not months
- Shopify, WooCommerce and Wix merchants that need real-time behavioural data and pre-built lifecycle automations
Ideal size: 10–500 (marketing, CRM, service) people · Scale-up or enterprise DTC brand with high send volume and limited data-engineering capacity
Not for
- B2B, sales-led organisations that need pipeline, quoting and account-based selling workflows
- Buyers whose data must stay in a single region, on-premise, or in a FedRAMP-authorised environment
- Teams that only want low-cost bulk email sending with no segmentation, service or CDP capability
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
1–3 weeks
~14 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$12,000/yr
Starts at $0 · Priced by active profiles and channel usage (email, SMS/MMS, WhatsApp); monthly billing, free plan, enterprise plans quoted
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Value-Position score
out of 5 · model estimate
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Free up to 250 active profiles and 500 email sends/month; paid tiers scale with contact count and sends
Add-on costs
- Composer and Customer Agent usage beyond the included credit (e.g. $5/month on the free plan)
- Mobile message credits (SMS/MMS, WhatsApp) beyond the plan allowance
- Optional Professional Services and partner-led implementation
Company & support
Who is behind Klaviyo, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2012 · 14 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Boston, US
How you get support
- PhoneNot listed
- EmailPaid plans
- Live chatNot listed
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumAll plans
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Not stated
Email support is listed as available 24/7 for free-trial and paid accounts; free-plan users get full email support only for the first 60 days. Chat/virtual assistance availability varies by location and plan type. Help Center, Academy and Community are self-serve.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Klaviyo sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.
Quadrant view
Typical annual cost × Time-to-value
The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line. A dashed ring marks an outlier pinned to the edge; hover for its value.
Companies on the chart 6 / 10
- Klaviyo
- Semrush
- Omnisend
- Marqii
- Conductor
- Ahrefs
Add or change companies
Up to 10 companies including Klaviyo. Listed closest first.
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
Ships an official MCP server. Connects to Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT connectors and Cursor out of the box.
AI & MCP readiness
What Klaviyo ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
K:AI covers Composer (marketing agent) and Customer Agent (service agent), predictive scores such as CLV, churn risk and RFM, generated content, send-time and channel optimisation, and deliverability anomaly detection. Generative features are marked with a sparkle icon. Core ML and predictive analytics cannot be opted out of; optional AI features can.
Your data & models
- Trains on your data
- Not recorded — ask the vendor
- Runs on
- OpenAI, Amazon
- AI pricing
- Billed by usage or credits
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Official MCP server
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Klaviyo is a Boston-based B2C CRM that unites a customer data platform with AI agents for email, SMS, WhatsApp, push and customer service. Marketing teams use it to build segments and flows from real-time behavioural and order data, then launch personalised campaigns without heavy engineering help. A free plan covers up to 250 profiles; paid plans scale with contacts and sends. SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 audits, EU/US data residency, 350+ integrations and an official MCP server for AI tools.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Klaviyo cost, and is there a free plan?
There is a free plan covering up to 250 active profiles, 500 email sends a month, $5 of mobile messages and $5 of Composer usage. Paid plans scale with active profiles and channel usage (email, SMS/MMS, WhatsApp) and enterprise pricing is quoted. Free-plan users receive full email support only for the first 60 days, after which they rely on the Help Center, Academy and community resources.
How long does it take to reach first value?
Setup is self-serve: connect an ecommerce platform, sync customer and order data, and send a first campaign or flow within days. Klaviyo describes enterprise deployments as going live in days rather than months, and says its AI agents are ready in minutes because they ingest your website data during onboarding. Teams without a data engineer should still budget for segment and flow design.
Does Klaviyo fit our existing stack?
Klaviyo lists 350+ pre-built integrations, including ecommerce platforms such as Shopify, plus payment providers, CRMs, analytics tools and messaging platforms, backed by APIs, webhooks, SDKs and warehouse syncs. It also ships a ChatGPT app, a Claude connector and an MCP server so external AI agents can read and act on Klaviyo data.
What can we do about data privacy and AI governance?
Klaviyo publishes SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 audit reports and offers GDPR tooling as a data processor, with EU and US data residency. It states external model providers are contractually prohibited from training on customer prompts. Core machine learning and predictive analytics cannot be opted out of; optional AI features can be left unused and are marked with a sparkle icon.
Can we connect Klaviyo to our own AI agents?
Yes. Klaviyo provides a remote MCP server so AI tools and agents connect directly to Klaviyo data, alongside public API keys, OAuth, SDKs and Postman collections for custom integrations. Its developer documentation lists the MCP server and the tools it exposes.