Otter
Restaurant POS and order management that brings in-store, pickup and delivery orders into one screen.
By Otter · 4.5/5 verified-buyer score
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Quick service, fast casual, cafe, bakery, food truck and pizzeria operators taking online orders
- Single- and multi-location restaurants juggling Uber Eats, DoorDash and Grubhub
- Operators who want POS hardware, software, payments and support from one vendor
- Multi-brand and ghost kitchen operators running several virtual brands
Ideal size: 10–100 people · Single- or multi-location restaurant operator scaling online ordering
Not for
- Retailers and non-restaurant businesses; the platform is purpose-built for restaurants
- Operators who need month-to-month hardware terms (24-month lease required)
- Teams that want to buy without a sales conversation and demo
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
7 days or less
~7 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$3,336/yr
Starts at $948 · Per location, monthly POS bundle: Starter $79, Advanced $178, Professional $278, each plus transaction fees and with the hardware kit included.
Implementation Friction
2/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Buyer Score
out of 5 · verified buyers
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
Not listed
Add-on costs
- Minimum processing fee of $100/mo applies to locations with monthly card volume under $25,000. Applies to POS only.
- 24-month contract required for all hardware leases.
Company & support
Who is behind Otter, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- Not recorded
- Headquarters
- Not recorded
How you get support
- PhonePlan not stated
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatPlan not stated
- Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsNot listed
- Dedicated account managerNot listed
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Average response time: 2 minutes
Support page states real agents available 24/7/365 by chat, phone and ticket; round-the-clock coverage is not tied to a named plan.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Otter sits relative to every other solution in the database. Toggle axes to compare on cost, speed, friction, or buyer score.
Quadrant view
Implementation friction × Verified buyer score
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Otter ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
Industry verdicts
How Otter speaks to each vertical it serves — same data, sector lens.
Restaurants & Food ServiceThinner margins demand tighter control.
Best for in Restaurants & Food Service
- Quick service, fast casual, cafe, bakery, pizzeria and food truck concepts
- Restaurants with heavy delivery-app volume on Uber Eats, DoorDash and Grubhub
- Multi-location and multi-brand restaurant groups needing centralized help
- Operators wanting POS, kiosk, KDS, loyalty and payments from one vendor
Not for
- Retailers or non-restaurant food businesses
- Operators who cannot commit to a 24-month hardware lease
- Buyers who need month-to-month flexibility on hardware
Otter is built specifically for restaurants: 100,000+ restaurants worldwide are claimed on the homepage, and the product set covers POS, kiosk, online ordering, kitchen display, loyalty, order manager and reporting. Pricing is per location and bundles hardware, software and processing; a minimum $100/mo processing fee applies to low-volume locations and hardware leases run 24 months. Delivery-app aggregation, offline mode, multi-location and multi-brand management, and 24/7 support are the headline differentiators against Clover, Square, Revel and Toast. Onboarding specialists promise setup in 7 days or less.
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Otter is a restaurant POS and order-management platform. It funnels in-store, pickup and delivery orders from 100+ channels into one screen, with menu and pricing sync, kiosk, KDS, loyalty, online ordering and reporting. Bundles start at $79 per location per month (Advanced $178, Professional $278) plus transaction fees, with the hardware kit included and onboarding promised in 7 days or less. Delivery-app aggregation, offline mode and 24/7 chat, phone and ticket support are core selling points.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Otter cost?
Pricing is per location and bundles software with a POS hardware kit. Starter is $79/month, Advanced $178/month and Professional $278/month, each plus transaction fees at rates that improve with the tier. A minimum processing fee of $100/month applies to locations with monthly card volume under $25,000, and all hardware leases require a 24-month contract.
How long does implementation take?
Otter says onboarding specialists get a restaurant set up in 7 days or less, with guided installation, menu configuration and hardware setup. Onboarding is described as free and personalized, and guided installation is included in the support scope.
What support is included?
Support is available 24/7/365 by live chat in the Otter dashboard or Otter Go app, by phone, and by ticket, with an average response time of 2 minutes and no bots or wait queues. Setup, technical, integration, staff-training and multi-location help are covered by the same team.
Which delivery and ordering platforms does Otter integrate with?
Otter lists 100+ integrations, including online-ordering channels such as Uber Eats, DoorDash, Grubhub, Caviar, Postmates, ChowNow, Seamless and Slice, courier services including DoorDash Drive, plus POS, labor, inventory, virtual brand, gift card and payment partners.
Does Otter ship AI features or an MCP server?
The vendor pages reviewed do not describe AI capabilities, a model-key policy or a Model Context Protocol server, so no AI features or MCP integration are recorded. Buyers with those requirements should confirm directly with the vendor.