Lightspeed Retail
Cloud POS and commerce platform that unifies in-store and online selling, inventory, payments and reporting for retailers.
By Lightspeed Commerce · HQ Montreal, Canada · 4.0/5 verified-buyer score
Positioning guardrails
Best for
- Independent retailers in apparel, footwear, bike, garden, home, sporting goods, CBD and vape who sell in store and online
- Multi-location merchants that need one inventory, customer and reporting view across stores
- Inventory-heavy retailers managing thousands of SKUs who want forecasting, purchase orders and wholesale ordering built in
- Retailers that prefer POS, payments, loyalty and eCommerce from a single vendor instead of a stitched-together stack
Ideal size: 1–100 employees people · Independent or multi-location retailer moving to omnichannel operations
Not for
- Powersports, marine and recreational vehicle dealers, which Lightspeed states it does not serve
- Retailers who want fully self-serve, transparent pricing without a conversation with sales
- Businesses that need a free POS tier or a no-contract monthly plan
- Retailers locked into an existing ERP or POS that cannot migrate transaction history
Value metrics scorecard
Time-to-Value
About 4 weeks
~30 days to first production value
Total Cost of Ownership
$3,468/yr
Starts at $1,068 · Monthly subscription per location: Basic $89, Core $149, Plus $289 USD/month, plus extra locations and registers; 1.5% card-present rate with Lightspeed Payments.
Implementation Friction
3/5
Engineering + admin effort required
Buyer Score
out of 5 · verified buyers
Full cost breakdown
Mandatory implementation fee
None
Seat tiers
One register included per plan; extra locations and additional registers are billed on top.
Add-on costs
- Extra locations and additional registers beyond the one included register
- Lightspeed Payments card-present rate of 1.5%
- Onboarding and professional service options
- Lightspeed Capital cash advance (select regions only)
Company & support
Who is behind Lightspeed Retail, and how your team gets help once it is live.
Company
- Founded
- 2005 · 21 yrs in business
- Headquarters
- Montreal, Canada
How you get support
- PhonePaid plans
- EmailNot listed
- Live chatPaid plans
- Support portal / ticketsNot listed
- Community forumNot listed
- Help centre / docsAll plans
- Dedicated account managerPlan not stated
- In person / on-siteNot listed
- Hours
- 24/7
- Response time
- Not stated
Pricing lists 24/7 chat support and 24/7 phone support alongside onboarding and professional services; the homepage markets 24/7 support. A self-serve Help Center is available. No response-time SLA is published.
“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.
Market position
Where Lightspeed Retail sits relative to every other solution in the database. Toggle axes to compare on cost, speed, friction, or buyer score.
Quadrant view
Implementation friction × Verified buyer score
Stack fit signal
Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.
No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.
AI & MCP readiness
What Lightspeed Retail ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.
AI features shipped
The homepage states Lightspeed AI lets users ask questions and get actionable insights. The Insights module covers demand forecasting, order recommendations and custom reporting but is not labelled AI. No details are published on model sourcing, customer-supplied keys or AI audit logging.
In your ecosystem
- AI connection
- Not supported
- Model key
- Not recorded
- AI usage audit
- Not recorded
Industry verdicts
How Lightspeed Retail speaks to each vertical it serves — same data, sector lens.
Retail & CommerceSell everywhere, stock nothing twice.
Best for in Retail & Commerce
- Specialty apparel, footwear, garden, home decor, bike, sporting goods, CBD and vape shops
- Multi-store retailers with thousands of SKUs that need shared inventory and replenishment
- Boutiques that want POS, eCommerce, loyalty and payments from one platform
- Retailers buying wholesale from brands who want purchase-order sync into the POS
Not for
- Powersports, marine and recreational vehicle dealers, which Lightspeed explicitly does not serve
- Mass merchants needing enterprise-scale ERP merchandising
- Retailers who want published all-in pricing without a sales call
- Sellers that only need a cheap standalone card reader
Lightspeed Retail targets specialty retail rather than mass merchants: the vendor names apparel, footwear, garden, home decor, bike, sporting goods, CBD and vape as core segments, and publishes case studies from boutiques, bike shops, wine and cigar retailers. Strengths are unified in-store and online inventory, wholesale ordering through NuORDER, purchase-order sync, forecasting and integrated payments. Buyers should note that pricing is quoted per business and varies, extra locations and registers cost more, and powersports, marine and RV dealers are explicitly excluded and redirected to the unaffiliated LightspeedDMS.
Compliance attestations
* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.
Bottom line
Lightspeed Retail is a cloud POS and commerce platform from Lightspeed Commerce (founded 2005, Montreal, Canada). It unifies in-store and online selling, inventory, payments, loyalty and reporting for apparel, footwear, bike, garden, home, sporting goods, CBD and vape retailers. Plans list at $89 (Basic), $149 (Core) and $289 (Plus) USD per month, plus extra locations and registers, with a 1.5% card-present rate via Lightspeed Payments. Products are SOC 2 Type II audited and 24/7 phone and chat support is included.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Lightspeed Retail cost?
Published pricing is per month: Basic $89 USD, Core $149 USD and Plus $289 USD, each including one register. Extra locations and additional registers cost extra, and Lightspeed Payments carries a 1.5% card-present rate. Lightspeed states these prices reflect Lightspeed Retail (X-Series) and can vary by business and industry, so multi-location retailers are asked to contact sales for a custom quote.
How long does it take to get Lightspeed Retail live?
Lightspeed does not publish a fixed go-live timeline. The pricing page lists onboarding and professional service options, and the vendor markets migration help under 'Switch to Lightspeed and simplify', so most retailers should plan for several weeks covering hardware setup, data migration and staff training.
Is Lightspeed Retail secure and compliant?
The Trust Center states that certain Lightspeed products, including X-Series (Lightspeed Retail), are audited yearly for SOC 2 Type II, that PCI DSS attestations are available for its product lines, and that data is encrypted in transit and at rest. Attestation copies are published through trust.lightspeedhq.com.
What integrations does Lightspeed Retail offer?
Lightspeed publishes a large integration marketplace spanning accounting (QuickBooks, Xero, Sage Intacct), eCommerce (Shopify, BigCommerce, WooCommerce), inventory and ERP (NetSuite, Cin7, Linnworks), payroll (Gusto) and marketing (Mailchimp, Klaviyo), plus a retail API available on higher plans.
What support is included?
The pricing page lists 24/7 chat support and 24/7 phone support alongside onboarding and professional services, and Lightspeed operates regional office phone lines in North America, Europe and Asia-Pacific. A self-serve Help Center is also available; no response-time SLA is published.
Does Lightspeed Retail include AI features?
Lightspeed advertises Lightspeed AI for asking questions and getting actionable insights, and its Insights module covers demand forecasting, order recommendations and custom reporting. The vendor does not publish which models power this, whether customers can supply their own model keys, or any AI audit logging.