Skip to main content
A
Ops EfficiencyEstablished · 5 yrs on market

Anthology

Higher-education software suite spanning Blackboard LMS, student information systems and lifecycle engagement.

By Anthology · HQ Washington, US · 3.5/5 verified-buyer score

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Higher-education institutions consolidating LMS, SIS/ERP and student systems
  • Universities already running Blackboard LMS that want integrated teaching and learning tools
  • Education leaders needing accreditation, outcomes and program-review workflows

Ideal size: 500+ staff institutions people · Established college or university with dedicated IT, registrar and student-services operations

Not for

  • K-12 districts or corporate training teams outside higher education
  • Small teams wanting self-serve signup and a published low-cost price list
  • Buyers who need transparent public pricing before entering a sales cycle

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

3-6 months

~90 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$0/yr

Starts at $0 · Quote-based enterprise licensing; no public price list is published on the vendor site.

Implementation Friction

4/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Buyer Score

3.5

out of 5 · verified buyers

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Not published; licensing is negotiated per institution.

Add-on costs

  • None

Company & support

Who is behind Anthology, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
Washington, US

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
  • Community forumPlan not stated
  • Help centre / docsPlan not stated
  • Dedicated account managerNot listed
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Support site offers Blackboard Help Center documentation, a support case submission path via the Blackboard support portal, developer support, and the Blackboard Community and Idea Exchange forums. No plan tiers or SLAs are stated.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Anthology sits relative to every other solution in the database. Toggle axes to compare on cost, speed, friction, or buyer score.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$0/yr$263k/yr$525k/yr$788k/yr$1050k/yr0d71d142d213d283dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value ↑ betterQuick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceyAnthology
Anthology is highlighted; the rest of the database is dimmed for context. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Anthology ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

We haven’t recorded AI capabilities for Anthology yet. Nothing here means unverified — not absent.

Industry verdicts

How Anthology speaks to each vertical it serves — same data, sector lens.

EducationFewer admin hours, more learning hours.

Best for in Education

  • Colleges and universities running Blackboard LMS for teaching and learning
  • Institutions replacing or consolidating SIS and ERP systems
  • Schools needing accreditation, outcomes and program-review tooling
  • Enrollment, marketing and lifecycle engagement teams in higher ed

Not for

  • K-12 districts seeking a lightweight, low-cost LMS
  • Corporate learning and development departments
  • Buyers needing published per-seat pricing and self-serve onboarding

Anthology's site is built entirely around higher education: Blackboard LMS, Blackboard Ally, Blackboard Illuminate for teaching and learning; Blackboard Accreditation, Outcomes, Planning and Program Review for institutional effectiveness; Anthology Student SIS/ERP, Finance and HCM for enterprise operations; and Reach, Engage and Advance for lifecycle engagement. Buyers should note that the homepage shows parts of the portfolio have been divested (Ellucian acquired the SIS and ERP business; Encoura acquired the lifecycle engagement and student success portfolio), so product ownership and roadmap continuity should be verified during diligence.

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not heldISO 27001 — not heldGDPR — not heldHIPAA — not heldFedRAMP — not heldISO 42001 — not heldIAPP AIGP* — not held

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Anthology sells a higher-education software portfolio built around the Blackboard brand: Blackboard LMS and teaching tools, institutional-effectiveness products such as Accreditation and Outcomes, Anthology Student SIS/ERP with Finance and HCM, and lifecycle engagement apps like Reach and Engage. It targets colleges and universities rather than corporate or K-12 buyers. Pricing is quote-based with no public list price, deployments are enterprise-scale, and support runs through the Blackboard help centre, support case portal and community forums.

Frequently asked questions

Who is Anthology actually built for?

The vendor site is positioned squarely at higher education. Its products cover teaching and learning (Blackboard LMS, Ally, Illuminate), institutional effectiveness (Accreditation, Outcomes, Planning, Program Review), enterprise operations (Anthology Student SIS/ERP, Finance and HCM, Payroll) and lifecycle engagement (Reach, Engage, Advance). Buyers outside colleges and universities, such as corporate L&D or K-12 districts, are not the stated audience.

How much does Anthology cost?

No public pricing is published on the vendor's site. Licensing is quote-based and negotiated per institution, and the sources given do not state starting prices, seat tiers or add-on fees. Buyers should treat any budget figure as requiring a direct sales conversation, and plan for an enterprise procurement cycle rather than a self-serve purchase.

Is part of the Anthology portfolio being sold off?

The homepage references two acquisitions: Ellucian completed its acquisition of Anthology's SIS and ERP business, and Encoura acquired the lifecycle engagement and student success portfolio. Meanwhile Blackboard, formerly Anthology, is described as emerging debt-free and focused on teaching and learning. Buyers should confirm which entity will own and support each specific product before signing.

What support options are available?

The support page lists a Blackboard Help Center for documentation and guides, a support case submission path through the Blackboard support portal, a developer support community, and the Blackboard Community plus Idea Exchange for peer discussion and product ideas. No support phone line, live chat, response-time SLA or plan-based tiering is stated in the available sources.

Does Anthology offer AI features or an MCP integration?

The sources provided contain no explicit AI feature descriptions, no model-key or AI-audit information, and no mention of MCP or the Model Context Protocol. Those fields are therefore recorded as unknown or empty rather than inferred from marketing language, and buyers should verify AI capabilities and any certification claims directly with the vendor.