Skip to main content
brightwheel logo
Ops EfficiencyEstablished · 10 yrs on market

brightwheel

The #1 childcare management software for early education programs

By brightwheel · HQ San Francisco, US · 4.8/5 Value-Position score (estimate)

ServesEducation

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Preschools, childcare centers and early-learning programs that want billing, admissions, attendance and family messaging in one platform.
  • Multi-site early education operators needing multi-location management, staff scheduling and payroll.
  • Directors replacing paper sign-in, paper forms and spreadsheet-based tuition billing.
  • Programs that must track state licensing, room ratios and CACFP/menu reporting.
  • Owners who want automated invoicing, autopay and subsidy management to tighten tuition collection.

Ideal size: 4–200 staff people · Single- or multi-site early education program moving off paper and spreadsheets

Not for

  • K-12 districts, colleges or universities needing an SIS, LMS or gradebook.
  • Businesses outside early childhood education, such as general SMB operations, field service or retail.
  • Buyers who must see published, self-serve pricing before contacting sales.
  • Enterprises that require documented SOC 2, ISO 27001 or FedRAMP evidence.
  • Institutions needing on-premise or self-hosted deployment.

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

About 2 weeks

~14 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

On request

Custom, quote-based pricing by enrollment capacity and number of locations; no public price list or self-serve checkout.

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Value-Position score

4.8

out of 5 · model estimate

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Priced per program by licensed enrollment capacity and location count, not per seat.

Add-on costs

  • None

Company & support

Who is behind brightwheel, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
San Francisco, US

How you get support

  • PhonePlan not stated
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatPlan not stated
  • Support portal / ticketsNot listed
  • Community forumPlan not stated
  • Help centre / docsPlan not stated
  • Dedicated account managerPlan not stated
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Live chat reaches a human in under 30 seconds (vendor claim)

Support is described as messaging, phone and chat, with a dedicated account specialist, 1:1 onboarding coach, data migration in under 24 hours, and 24/7 self-serve help center, video tutorials and communities.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where brightwheel sits against its closest alternatives. Pick any two of cost, speed, friction and buyer score, and up to 9 companies to compare.

Quadrant view

Typical annual cost × Time-to-value

$0/yr$29/yr$940/yr11d21d30d33d36dAnnual TCO ← betterDays to value better →Quick & CheapQuick & PriceySlow & CheapSlow & PriceybrightwheelLillioSchoolStatusKangarootimeProcareParentSquare

The lines cross at the median of the solutions shown, so about half sit on each side of each line.

brightwheel is outlined. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Companies on the chart 6 / 10

  • brightwheel
  • Lillio
  • SchoolStatus
  • Kangarootime
  • Procare
  • ParentSquare
Add or change companies

Up to 10 companies including brightwheel. Listed closest first.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceNot supported
Microsoft 365Not supported
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What brightwheel ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

AI added to an existing product
AI search

The only AI capability described on the vendor's site is a support-side AI assistant that surfaces answers without manual searching. No model, data-training or AI-audit detail is published.

Your data & models

Trains on your data
Not recorded — ask the vendor
Runs on
Not recorded
AI pricing
Not recorded

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not listedISO 27001 — not listedGDPR — not listedHIPAA — not listedFedRAMP — not listedCMMC — not listedISO 42001 — not listedIAPP AIGP* — not listed

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

brightwheel is an all-in-one childcare management platform for early education programs, combining admissions and enrollment, tuition billing and payments, attendance and check-in, parent messaging, lesson planning and staff scheduling/payroll. It reports 20 hours per month saved per administrator, 99.9% uptime and a 4.9 rating across 160,000+ reviews. Pricing is quote-based on enrollment capacity and locations, onboarding includes a 1:1 coach, and most programs go live within about two weeks.

Frequently asked questions

How much does brightwheel cost?

brightwheel does not publish list prices. Pricing is quoted by enrollment capacity, number of locations and the modules a program needs, and you request a quote or demo from the pricing page. There is no self-serve checkout, and the vendor's own savings calculator excludes subscription cost, so confirm total annual cost with sales.

How long does implementation take?

brightwheel says most programs are live and saving within two weeks, with data migration completed in under 24 hours and a 1:1 onboarding coach to bring staff and families on board. Expect a light lift if you are replacing paper sign-in, paper forms and manual billing.

Does brightwheel work for multi-location programs?

Yes. brightwheel lists multi-location manager and multi-site management among its features and publishes customer stories from multi-site owners. Reporting, enrollment and staff permissions can be handled across locations from the same platform.

What security and compliance certifications does brightwheel have?

Its security page cites PCI Level 1 for payment processing, TX-RAMP-certified security controls, two-factor authentication, encryption, AWS-based storage and 99.9% uptime with 24x7 monitoring. It does not claim SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA or FedRAMP on that page, so regulated buyers should request evidence directly.

Does brightwheel use AI?

The only AI capability described on brightwheel's website is a support AI assistant that surfaces answers without manual searching. The vendor publishes no detail on which models power it, whether customer data trains models, or how AI activity is logged, so those questions should go to the vendor.

What support is included with brightwheel?

brightwheel advertises messaging, phone and live chat (connecting to a human in under 30 seconds), a dedicated account specialist, 1:1 onboarding, plus a help center, video tutorials and online communities for self-service. Response times beyond the live-chat claim are not published.