Skip to main content
F
Ops EfficiencyEstablished · 6 yrs on market

Financial Cents

All-in-one accounting practice management software built for small and growing firms

By Financial Cents · 4.8/5 verified-buyer score

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Small accounting, bookkeeping and tax firms (roughly 2–30 people) that want one platform instead of 5–10 disconnected tools
  • Owners who need real-time visibility into team capacity, deadlines and unbilled time without micromanaging
  • Firms that want built-in AI file validation, auto-renaming and email drafting with no separate AI tools to buy
  • QuickBooks Online-based practices that need client, work and billing data in sync
  • Growing firms that need a branded client portal, automated document requests and e-signature

Ideal size: 2–30 people · Small or growing firm moving off spreadsheets and disconnected point tools

Not for

  • Mid-size and enterprise firms that need heavy customisation, granular permissions or ERP-grade integration
  • Firms looking for full general-ledger accounting; Financial Cents is practice management, not a ledger
  • Teams that require FedRAMP or government-grade certifications
  • Firms needing advanced project resourcing or enterprise PSA scheduling

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

Under 2 weeks

~14 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$5,880/yr

Starts at $228 · Per user, per month. Annual billing: Solo $19 (single user), Team $49/user, Scale $69/user; monthly billing Team $69/user, Scale $89/user; Enterprise custom.

Implementation Friction

1/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Buyer Score

4.8

out of 5 · verified buyers

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

Solo is single-user only; Team and Scale have no minimum on annual billing but require a minimum of 5 users when billed monthly.

Add-on costs

  • Month-End Close (MEC): $5 per client per month, billed annually
  • KBA e-signature identity verification: $1–$2 per KBA, depending on package size

Company & support

Who is behind Financial Cents, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
Not recorded
Headquarters
Not recorded

How you get support

  • PhoneNot listed
  • EmailNot listed
  • Live chatPlan not stated
  • Support portal / ticketsPlan not stated
  • Community forumNot listed
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerEnterprise only
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

Support questions can be raised via the support form or chat on the contact page; tutorials, product tours and the template library are self-serve. Onboarding support is included on every plan; Enterprise adds priority support, premium training and onboarding, and a dedicated customer success…

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where Financial Cents sits relative to every other solution in the database. Toggle axes to compare on cost, speed, friction, or buyer score.

Quadrant view

Implementation friction × Verified buyer score

1.0/52.0/53.0/54.0/55.0/50.0/51.3/52.5/53.8/55.0/5Friction ← betterBuyer score ↓ betterLoved & EasyLoved & HeavyRisky & EasyRisky & HeavyFinancial Cents
Financial Cents is highlighted; the rest of the database is dimmed for context. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceIntegration
Microsoft 365Integration
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What Financial Cents ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

AI features shipped

Document processingNLP automation

Three built-in AI capabilities: AI File Validator (checks each client upload against the request, period and client details), AI File Renaming Agent (renames uploads to the firm's naming convention, with 'Just Do It' or 'Always Ask' modes), and AI drafting of client emails plus workflow checklist generation from a prompt. Included on all plans; managed in Settings > AI Agents.

In your ecosystem

AI connection
Not supported
Model key
Not recorded
AI usage audit
Not recorded

Industry verdicts

How Financial Cents speaks to each vertical it serves — same data, sector lens.

Professional ServicesBill hours faster, staff smarter.

Best for in Professional Services

  • Accounting, bookkeeping and tax firms of roughly 2–30 people
  • Firms consolidating 5–10 disconnected tools into one platform
  • QuickBooks Online-based practices
  • Firms wanting a client portal, e-signature and automated document requests

Not for

  • Firms that need full general-ledger accounting software
  • Large enterprises needing ERP-grade integration or FedRAMP/ISO 27001 certification
  • Firms requiring heavy customisation or complex PSA resourcing

Financial Cents is practice-management software for accounting, bookkeeping, tax and client-accounting-services firms, so the buying industry is professional services itself. Vendor content and customer stories cover firms from 2 to 30 people, including specialised practices such as construction accounting, payroll/tax and fractional CFO advisory. The strongest fit is a small or growing firm drowning in spreadsheets, Outlook task lists and disconnected apps that wants workflows, a client portal, document requests, time tracking, billing and reporting in one system with QuickBooks Online sync. Accounting-adjacent tools such as month-end close are paid add-ons, and large-firm security requirements (FedRAMP, ISO 27001) are not evidenced.

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 ISO 27001 — not heldGDPR HIPAA FedRAMP — not heldISO 42001 — not heldIAPP AIGP* — not held

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

Financial Cents is practice management software for small and growing accounting, bookkeeping, tax and CAS firms. It combines workflow templates, a client CRM with native QuickBooks Online sync, a branded client portal with e-signature, time tracking and billing, proposals, and capacity reporting. Plans run from Solo at $19/month (single user) to per-user Team ($49) and Scale ($69) tiers, plus custom Enterprise. Built-in AI validates and renames client uploads and drafts emails and checklists. SOC 2 Type I certified; 14-day free trial.

Frequently asked questions

What does Financial Cents cost and how is it priced?

All plans are 12-month agreements. Solo is $19/month for a single user billed annually. Team is $49 per user/month billed annually ($69 billed monthly) and Scale is $69 per user/month annually ($89 monthly); Enterprise is custom-priced. Monthly billing requires a minimum of 5 users on Team and Scale, and Solo is single-user only. A 14-day free trial requires no credit card. Add-ons are priced separately: Month-End Close at $5 per client/month and KBA identity verification at $1–$2 per signing.

How long does implementation take?

Vendor documentation says most teams are productive on day one and a typical team is fully running within about two weeks. Onboarding support is included on every plan, alongside built-in tutorials, product tours, a 400+ workflow template library and a starter pack. There is no mandatory implementation fee; premium training and onboarding is reserved for the Enterprise plan.

What integrations does Financial Cents support?

Native QuickBooks Online sync covers clients, work and billing. Email connects through Gmail and Outlook, and the Scale plan adds two-way Google Drive and OneDrive sync, SmartVault, Zapier (5,000+ apps) and an open API. Tax returns from Drake, UltraTax, ProConnect, ProSeries, Lacerte and CCH Axcess can print into client files via Google Drive, and Adobe Sign supports KBA identity verification for Form 8879.

Is Financial Cents secure and compliant?

Financial Cents states it is SOC 2 Type I certified by AICPA, with data encrypted in transit (TLS 1.3) and at rest, multi-factor authentication, fine-grained staff access control and audit logs of changes to sensitive records. Hosting is on Digital Ocean and AWS in New York and Virginia, and Canadian firms can choose Canadian data residency. The security page also describes bi-annual third-party security assessments, penetration testing and automated vulnerability scanning.

What AI does Financial Cents include, and does it cost extra?

Three built-in AI capabilities are included on all plans: AI File Validator checks each client upload against the request, accounting period and client details; AI File Renaming Agent renames uploads to the firm's naming convention; and AI drafts client emails and generates workflow checklists from a prompt. They are managed in Settings > AI Agents. The vendor does not publish which model is used, whether customers can bring their own key, or AI-specific audit logging.

Who is Financial Cents not right for?

It is explicitly built for small and growing firms, not large enterprises: the Enterprise tier adds IP fencing, mandatory 2FA, custom permissions, webhooks, priority support and a dedicated customer success manager, but there is no evidence of FedRAMP or ISO 27001 certification. It is also practice management rather than general-ledger accounting, so it does not replace accounting or ERP software.