Skip to main content
P
Ops EfficiencyFounded 2012 · 14 yrs

PracticePanther

All-in-one legal practice management software for case management, billing, payments and client communication.

By PracticePanther · HQ Miami, US · 4.5/5 verified-buyer score

Positioning guardrails

Best for

  • Solo attorneys and small law firms that want one platform for matters, calendaring, billing and payments
  • Firms that want native eSignature, two-way business texting and a secure client portal without bolt-ons
  • Firms needing trust accounting and three-way reconciliation (Business Pro)
  • Practices that must satisfy IOLTA, ABA and state bar billing guidelines
  • Teams migrating from another practice management system with vendor-assisted onboarding

Ideal size: 1–50 people · Small to mid-size law firm ready to standardize intake, matter management and billing

Not for

  • Large litigation firms needing deep e-discovery, analytics or litigation support tooling
  • Non-legal professional-services businesses: the product is legal-specific
  • Buyers who require published SOC 2 or ISO 27001 attestations
  • Enterprises needing on-premise deployment or heavy custom development

Value metrics scorecard

Time-to-Value

1–2 weeks

~14 days to first production value

Total Cost of Ownership

$10,680/yr

Starts at $588 · Per user, per month; monthly or annual billing. Annual billing saves $120 per user per year.

Implementation Friction

2/5

Engineering + admin effort required

Buyer Score

4.5

out of 5 · verified buyers

Full cost breakdown

Mandatory implementation fee

None

Seat tiers

No minimum seat count published. Four plans: Solo $49, Essential $69, Business $89, Business Pro $114 per user/month billed annually.

Add-on costs

  • LawToolBox calendar rules require a separate subscription
  • PantherPayments online payment processing is included but transaction pricing is not published

Company & support

Who is behind PracticePanther, and how your team gets help once it is live.

Company

Founded
2012 · 14 yrs in business
Headquarters
Miami, US

How you get support

  • PhoneAll plans
  • EmailAll plans
  • Live chatNot listed
  • Support portal / ticketsAll plans
  • Community forumAll plans
  • Help centre / docsAll plans
  • Dedicated account managerPlan not stated
  • In person / on-siteNot listed
Hours
Not recorded
Response time
Not stated

All plans include support by phone, email, training videos and a support forum. Business and Business Pro add VIP support with faster replies and senior technicians. A dedicated account manager is assigned during onboarding and data migration.

“Not listed” means the vendor’s public pages don’t mention that channel, not that it is unavailable. Ask about it during evaluation.

Market position

Where PracticePanther sits relative to every other solution in the database. Toggle axes to compare on cost, speed, friction, or buyer score.

Quadrant view

Implementation friction × Verified buyer score

1.0/52.0/53.0/54.0/55.0/50.0/51.3/52.5/53.8/55.0/5Friction ← betterBuyer score ↓ betterLoved & EasyLoved & HeavyRisky & EasyRisky & HeavyPracticePanther
PracticePanther is highlighted; the rest of the database is dimmed for context. Click any dot to open its dossier.

Stack fit signal

Compatibility with standard B2B ecosystems.

MCPNot supported

No supported MCP path today, so it cannot be driven from an AI client.

SalesforceNot supported
AWSNot supported
SnowflakeNot supported
HubSpotNot supported
Google WorkspaceIntegration
Microsoft 365Integration
SAPNot supported
SlackNot supported

AI & MCP readiness

What PracticePanther ships in AI, and what it asks of your ecosystem.

We haven’t recorded AI capabilities for PracticePanther yet. Nothing here means unverified — not absent.

Industry verdicts

How PracticePanther speaks to each vertical it serves — same data, sector lens.

Professional ServicesBill hours faster, staff smarter.

Best for in Professional Services

  • Solo, small and mid-size law firms across most practice areas
  • Family, immigration, bankruptcy, employment and personal injury practices
  • Firms that need billing, trust accounting and payments in one system

Not for

  • Non-legal consultancies or agencies; the product is law-firm specific
  • Large litigation shops needing e-discovery and analytics
  • Buyers requiring published SOC 2 or ISO 27001 certifications

PracticePanther is purpose-built for law firms and is approved by 70+ bar associations, so legal services is effectively its core vertical. Matter management, intake forms, document templates, LEDES billing, native eSignature and an IOLTA-style three-way trust reconciliation target legal operations from solo practitioners to multi-attorney firms. Buyers with heavy litigation support needs should treat e-discovery, litigation analytics and deep conflict checking as gaps to fill with dedicated tools.

HealthcareMore patients, less paperwork.

Best for in Healthcare

  • Personal injury and medical malpractice practices handling medical records
  • Firms needing HIPAA-compliant document storage and a secure client portal
  • Practices retrieving records via integrations such as Record Grabber or YoCierge

Not for

  • Hospitals, clinics and health systems needing a clinical record system
  • Any non-legal healthcare provider

The vendor's security page states HIPAA-compliant document storage, and the integrations list includes medical-record retrieval services (Record Grabber, YoCierge), which suits personal-injury and other medical-legal practices. The HIPAA claim covers data storage for law firms, not clinical use. Hospitals, clinics and health systems should not treat PracticePanther as a patient record or clinical workflow system.

Compliance attestations

SOC 2 — not heldISO 27001 — not heldGDPR — not heldHIPAA FedRAMP — not heldISO 42001 — not heldIAPP AIGP* — not held

* IAPP AIGP certifies individuals, not products. It means named staff hold the credential — not that the platform does.

Bottom line

PracticePanther is a cloud-based, all-in-one legal practice management platform for law firms of all sizes. It combines case and matter management, calendaring, document storage, client intake, CRM, native eSignature and two-way texting, billing, and built-in payments (PantherPayments), with embedded trust and operating accounting on the Business Pro plan. Four per-user plans start at $49 per user per month billed annually, and a 7-day free trial requires no credit card.

Frequently asked questions

How much does PracticePanther cost?

PracticePanther sells per user, per month across four plans. Billed annually, Solo is $49, Essential $69, Business $89 and Business Pro $114 per user per month; monthly billing is $10 more per user per month. Annual billing saves $120 per user per year. A 7-day free trial is available with no credit card required. No mandatory implementation fee is published.

What is included on every plan?

All plans include contact and matter management, billable time and expense tracking, unlimited data storage, iPhone/iPad/Android apps, a secure client portal, and support by phone, email, videos and a user forum. Higher tiers add custom fields and security roles, intake forms, native eSignature and two-way texting, LEDES billing, and finally embedded trust and operating accounting on Business Pro.

How long does implementation take?

PracticePanther is cloud-based with no on-premise install, and the vendor offers a 7-day free trial so firms can build matters, test workflows and send invoices before committing. Migration from another platform is handled with a dedicated account manager who assists through the transition, and data can be exported at any time. Most small firms can reach first production use within roughly one to two weeks.

Does PracticePanther work with the tools we already use?

Yes. The integrations list includes QuickBooks, Gmail and Outlook with Exchange calendar sync, Google Calendar, Google Drive, Dropbox, Box and OneDrive for documents, MailChimp, Lawmatics, LawToolBox for court deadlines, and Zapier plus a public API for connecting thousands of other apps. LawToolBox calendar rules require a separate subscription.

Is PracticePanther secure and compliant?

The vendor's security page states HIPAA-compliant document storage, 256-bit encryption, SSL transmission, two-factor authentication, role-based and IP-address permissions, version history and PCI-compliant payment processing, with data backed up on Microsoft Azure geo-redundant servers. Note that no SOC 2, ISO 27001 or FedRAMP attestation is published on that page, and ISO 42001 is not claimed.